Ministry of Railways will be releasing its new All India Railway Time Table known as "TRAINS AT A GLANCE (TAG)" effective from 15th August, 2018

Ministry of Railways

Ministry of Railways will be Releasing New All India Railway Time Table (Train at A Glance) With Effect From 15th August 2018

In addition to The "Trains at a Glance", All Zonal Railways will also be Releasing their respective Zonal Railway Time Tables

The Ministry of Railways will be releasing its new All India Railway Time Table known as **"TRAINS AT A GLANCE (TAG)**" effective from 15th August, 2018. In addition to the "Trains at a Glance", all the 17 Zonal Railways will also be releasing their respective Zonal Railway Time Tables (5 Zonal time tables in all, each Zonal Time Table comprising 3-4 Zonal Railways) which will also come into effect from 15th August, 2018. The new Trains at a Glance will also be available w.e.f. 15th August, 2018 on Indian Railways' official website i.e. www.indianrailways.gov.in.

Important highlights of the new time table are as follows:

Overview

Indian Railways runs about 3500 reserved trains which include Gatiman Express, Rajdhani Express, Humsafar Express, Tejas Express, Duronto Express, Antyodaya Express, Garib Rath Express, Shatabdi Express, Sampark Kranti Express, YUVA Express, Janshatabdi Express and other types of Express trains. This is in addition to about 4600 Passenger and 5000 EMU trains. The volume of passengers carried daily is about 2.22 million.

In addition, more than 36000 Special train trips were run during 2017-18 to clear extra rush and meet passenger demand. About 500 coaches were permanently augmented in about 300 trains to increase the carrying capacity.

III. Proliferation of new train services:

n the year 2017-18, 90 number of new services was introduced, 43 number of services were extended and increase in frequency of 9 number of services was done. In the current year upto

15.08.2018, 35 number of services have already been introduced, 28 number of services have been extended and increase in frequency of 5 number of services have been effected. Till date, 23 Humsafar Express trains, 10 Antyodaya Express trains, 1 Tejas Express, 1 Uday Express which have already been introduced have been incorporated in the new Time Table. In addition, 1 Antyodaya Express train, 2 Tejas Express, 2 Uday Express trains still to be introduced have also been included. After a review of lie over periods of rakes at destinations it was noticed that rake utilization can be further improved. The review revealed that rakes of trains that were having lie overs at the terminals can be utilized for providing new services, extending existing services and increase the frequency of some trains. Accordingly 24 new trains, 66 extension of trains and 4 increase in frequency of trains which have already been started using the lie over rakes have been incorporated in the new Time Table w.e.f. 15.08.2018.

IV. **Replacement of conventional Passenger trains with MEMU/DEMU:** The short distance passenger trains especially having reversal enroute are being replaced by Mainline Electric Multiple Units (MEMUs) & Diesel Electric Multiple Units (DEMUs). In the year 2017-18, 57 number of conventional passenger services have been replaced by MEMUs/DEMUs thereby increasing the overall mobility of the system. In the current year, 50 conventional services have already been replaced by MEMU/DEMU upto 15.08.2018 and 50 more conventional services are planned to be replaced by 31.03.2019.

Corridor blocks: To provide sufficient time for the maintenance of the fixed infrastructure like track structure, signalling gears, overhead equipments, it has been planned to ensure provision of fixed corridor blocks. Zonal Railways have incorporated traffic corridor blocks of 2.5 to 3 hours duration in the new Working Time Table w.e.f. 15.08.2018. In the WTT 2018, the duration of corridor blocks is about 292 hours more than the corridor blocks available in WTT 2017.

VI. **Mega blocks**: In addition, 4 to 5 hours mega block has also been worked out in different sections of each Division on one day of the week (preferably Sunday) to carry out major maintenance works. In these mega blocks, all maintenance works including civil, over head traction (OHE), signal & telecommunication will be undertaken by pooling of resources to achieve maximum output. This will not only improve the reliability of the assets but also enhance the passenger safety. Mega blocks on more than 95% sections in all the Divisions of Indian Railways have been incorporated in the new time table. The intimation of mega block planned for Sunday is to be conveyed to Railway Board by Tuesday. In case mega block is availed, Zonal Railways may allow 2 hours corridor block on 3 alternate days in the week.

Charting at booked speed: The charting of trains having MPS of 110 Kmph has been carried out at 105 Kmph to the extent possible to reflect actual running. This will further help in improving the punctuality of the trains. The Rajdhani, Shatabdi, Tejas, Gatimaan, Humsafar, Garibrath, Duronto & Antyodaya Express trains having MPS of 130 Kmph have however been charted at 130 kmph.

Efforts to improve punctuality of late running trains: A careful analysis of the reasons for loss of punctuality has been carried out for trains regularly running late and necessary changes in the time table have been incorporated to improve punctuality.

IX. **Replacement of conventional rakes by LHB rakes**: To provide more safe and comfortable journey the conventional rakes are being replaced by LHB rakes. In the year 2017-18, 49 number of conventional rakes have been replaced by LHB rakes. In the current financial year, 48 rakes have already been replaced by LHB rakes upto 15.08.2018 and 66 more rakes are planned to be replaced by 31.03.2019.

Rationalization of terminals: To avoid criss-cross movement at important stations, the terminals of important trains have been changed. In the current financial year, terminals of 23 number of trains have been shifted. 12 trains in NR, 5 trains in NCR, 1 trains in ECR, 1 train in NWR & 4 trains in SCR have been shifted.

XI. Bye passing of terminals to avoid reversal: To streamline the operations by avoiding reversal, 20 trains have been shifted to adjacent terminals. In the current financial year, the terminals of 4 trains in SECR, 7 trains in WCR, 2 trains in ECoR, 5 trains in SER & 2 trains in NCR have been shifted.